Articles / "Boloto Lammin-Suo" ("The Marsh of Lammin-Suo"), a reserve

"Boloto Lammin-Suo" ("The Marsh of Lammin-Suo"), a reserve

Subject / Nature memorials

Boloto Lammin-Suo ("The Marsh of Lammin-Suo") is a regional hydrology (march) reserve in the Vyborg district. It is located 1 kilometer to the south-east from Ilyichevo Settlement , the area of the reserve is 380 hectares. It was founded in 1976. The reserve is hummock-ridge bog that is located in the lake hollow (Finnish Lammin suo – “ozernoe boloto” (The Lake Bog)). The pine-moss crop-bush vegetation predominates in the reserve. The marsh is surrounded with pine and birch forests. In the territory of the reserve there are a rare for Russia moss, two rare kinds of the sphagnous moss. The reserve is the stopping place of the migratory birds , mating place of the upland fowl. In the reserve there is the experimental marsh station of the State Hydrology Institute (GTI). The field studies of the student-biologist are conducted here.

Tripolskaya, Anna Aleksandrovna

Leningrad Oblast, the/Vyborg District/Ilyichevo Settlement

Калюжный И.Л., Левандовская Л.Я., Клепиков В.В. Детальные гидрохимические исследования олиготрофного болотного массива заказника «Ламмин-Суо» // Болота и болотные ягодники. Вологда, 1979, С. 83-94
Красная книга природы Ленинградской области. Т. 1. Особо охраняемые природные территории. СПб., 1999, С. 56-57
Ильичево. URL:, С. 56-57
История ГГИ. URL:, С. 56-57

Mentioned in articles:

Ilyichovo, settlement
ILYICHOVO (Finnish Jalkala before 1948), a settlement in Vyborg District. Population: 1100. It is located between Lake Krasavitsa and Lake Dolgoye. The toponym Jalkala originates probably from a nickname of the residents (Finnish jalka = leg.) The... more

Reserves (Sanctuaries in the international classification) . This is category of special protected natural territories which founded for protection or restoration the components of nature and for maintenance the common ecological balance. Some... more

Vyborg District
VYBORG DISTRICT, municipal entity. Population: 172,800. Area: 7381.7 sq. km. V. D. comprises the towns of Vyborg (adm. center), Primorsk, Vysotsk, Kamennogorsk, Svetogorsk; urban settlements of Roschino, Lesogorsky, and Sovetsky; and 180 rural... more