Articles / Gatchina Town coat of arms, the

Gatchina Town coat of arms, the

Subject / Heraldry

The Gatchina Town's coat of arms is the official approved heraldic emblem (it was approved with the decision of the Representative Assembly of the Municipality of Gatchina Town of 4 October 1995, No.15 and resolution of Municipal Union “Gorod Gatchina” (the town of Gatchina) Head of 18 March 1998, No. 151). The heraldic description of the coat of arms: “The shield is traversed. At the top of the golden field there is the Russian State double-headed eagle of the time of governing of Emperor Paul I. The eagle is black with golden beaks and feet, tongues are dark red . The eagle is crowned with three imperial crowns where the central one is bigger than others. The eagle has the sceptre and the orb in his feet and silver Maltese Cross under the crown of the Grand Master of the Sovereign Order of St. John of Jerusalem (The Sovereign Military Maltese Order) on the breast. Over the cross there is a dark red shield that is framed with the golden monogrammed name of Emperor Paul I. On the azure field there is a golden letter “G”. The coat of arms is historical, it was designed with the participation of Emperor Paul I at the end of the 18th century. It was approved on 13 December 1800 by the Emperor. The coat of arms was registered in the State Heraldic Register of the Russian Federation, No.270.

Tripolskaya, Anna Aleksandrovna

Paul I, Emperor

Leningrad Oblast, the/Gatchina District/Gatchina Town

Борисов И.В., Козина Е.Н. Геральдика России. М., 2005., С. 172
Винклер П.П. Гербы городов, губерний, областей и посадов Российской империи. М. 1990, С. 39.
"Если ехать вам случится...". Визитные карточки городов Ленинградской области: Справочник-путеводитель. СПб., 2000, С. 119-120

Mentioned in articles:

Heraldry of the Leningrad Oblast, the
The Heraldry of the Leningrad Oblast originated from the 15th century and is one of the oldest in the Russian Federation. In the historical-heraldic respect, the territory of the modern Leningrad Oblast is divided into three parts: Karelian Isthmus,... more