Articles / Union of Communes of the Northen Oblast

Union of Communes of the Northen Oblast

Subject / Topography/Administrative - territorial division

UNION OF COMMUNES OF THE NORTHERN OBLAST (UCNO), an oblast association of Soviets in 1918-19. It included Petrograd, Novgorod, Pskov, Olonets, Archangel, Vologda, North Dvina (separated from Archangel Gubernia in June 1918), and Cherepovets (separated from Novgorod Gubernia) Gubernias. It was established at the 1st Congress of Soviets of the Northern Oblast in April 1918, where a Central Executive Committee was elected and an executive power, the Council of Commissars, was instituted, with G. E. Zinoviev appointed their chairman. The Severnaya Kommuna newspaper, an official journal of UCNO, was published. The conflict of interests between different gubernias, and contradictions between the governing bodies of UCNO and the leadership of some gubernias resulted in the abolition of the union at the 3rd Congress of Soviets of the Northern Oblast in April 1919. Archive documents of UCNO are contained in the St. Petersburg central city archive and St. Petersburg central state archive of historical and political documents.

Chistyakov, Anton Yuryevich

Zinovyev, Grigory Yevseyevich

Neighbouring Territories/Arkhangelsk Oblast, the
Historical Toponyms/Cherepovets Gubernia
Historical Toponyms/Novgorod Gubernia (Province)
Historical Toponyms/Olonets Gubernia (Province)
Historical Toponyms/Petrograd Gubernia
Historical Toponyms/Pskov Gubernia
Historical Toponyms/Severo-Dvinsk Gubernia
Historical Toponyms/Vologda Gubernia

Серебрякова З.Л. Областные объединения Советов России: Март 1917 – декабрь 1918. М., 1977., С.114-128; 195-212

Subject Index
"Severnaya kommuna" ("Northern Commune"), a newspaper