Articles / Lintulsky Convent of the Holy Trinity

Lintulsky Convent of the Holy Trinity

Subject / Religion. Church/Monasteries and convents

The Lintula Convent of the Holy Trinity (the settlement of Ogonki, the Vyborg distrikt). It was the first convent in Finland. The convent was founded by the privy Councillor F.P. Neronov in 1894 in the estate Lintula bought for this aim. The wooden church of the Holy Trinity (the architect E.L. Morozov) was built in 1894-1895. The community consisted of 26 nuns (first nuns came from the Kazansky Mokshansky Convent of the Penza Gubernia) was opened on 10 August 1896. Public religious services were performed by St. John of Kronstadt and Antony (Vadkovsky), the archbishop of Finland. In September 1905 the community received the monastery status. In the 1900s two-storeyed wooden buildings for cells and orphan's home were built. In 1911 the domestic church of St. Martyr Sophia and St. Prince Vladimir was opened in 1911. The main church was burned in 1916, the new wooden on the stone base church of the Trinity in the New Russian Style (the architect I. Bakh) was buit in 1919 on the place of the former church using the money of Prince I.N. Saltykov. In 1939 in connection with the beginning of the Soviet-Finland war all 40 nuns went away to Finland. Only the hallowed Jerusalem Icon of the Mother of God was managed to salvage. Buildings of the church and orphan's home were destroyed during the war in 1939-1944; the cells and refectory have been survived. In 1946 nuns moved into the village Palloki (Finland) where the new church of the Holy Trinity was consecrated in 1973.

Shkarovsky, Mikhail Vitalyevich
Bertash, Aleksandr Vitalyevich

Antony (Aleksandr Vasilyevich Vadkovsky), metropolitan
Bach, Ivan
Ioann of Kronstadt (Ivan Ilyich Sergiyev)
Morozov, Yevgeny Lvovich
Neronov, Fyodor Petrovich
Saltykov, Ivan Nikolayevich, Prince

Neighbouring Territories/Finland
Leningrad Oblast, the/Vyborg District/Ogonki Settlement

Орлов В.С. Линтульский Свято-Троицкий женский монастырь // С.-Петербургские епархиальные ведомости. 1994. № 13., С.48-51
Орлов В.С. Старая Линтула. Храм Святой Троицы в Линтульском Свято-Троицком женском монастыре // Церковный вестник. 2005. № 5., С.48
Орлов В.С. Старая Линтула. Храм Святой Троицы в Линтульском Свято-Троицком женском монастыре // Церковный вестник. 2005. № 6-7, С.47

Subject Index
Icons, revered and miracle-working
Lintula, a country estate
The Church of the Holy Trinity (Ogonki Village, Vyborg District)

Mentioned in articles:

Eparhy of Vyborg and Finland
The Eparchy of Vyborg and Finland. In 1809 Finland was included into the Russian Empire. There were about twenty five thousand members of the Orthodox Church (the majority of members was in the Ladoga rigion) in sixteen parishes of Finland in... more

Grin, Elmar (Aleksandr Vasilyevich) (1909-?), a writer
Elmar Grin (the real name is Aleksandr Vasilyevich Yakimov; 1909-?), a writer. Elmar Grin was born in a peasant family in Kivenappa village of the Vyborg Gubernia (now it is Pervomayskoye settlement of the Vyborg District). He was brought up in... more

Ioann of Kronstadt (Sergiyev) (1829-1908), Saint, clergy figure
Ioann of Kronstadt (Ivan Ilyich Sergiyev; 1829-1908), Saint, clergy figure. Ioann of Kronstadt was a famous preacher and ecclesiastical writer. He graduated with honours from the Arkhangelsk Ecclesiastical College, Seminary in 1851 and the St.... more

Lounatioki Convent of St. Seraphim
The Lounatioki Woman Monastic Community of St. Seraphim (the village of Zakhodnoye, the Vyborg district). It was founded in the 1900s with the blessing of archbishop of Finland Sergius (Stragorodsky) in a dacha area Lounatioki (from 1948 the... more

Town residence of monasteries
The town residences of monasteries. There were two periods of the town residences establising in the St. Petesburg Gubernia/Leningrad Oblast: 1) the late 19th - the early 20th century, 2) the late 20th century. In the period the town residences were... more

Vyborg District
VYBORG DISTRICT, municipal entity. Population: 172,800. Area: 7381.7 sq. km. V. D. comprises the towns of Vyborg (adm. center), Primorsk, Vysotsk, Kamennogorsk, Svetogorsk; urban settlements of Roschino, Lesogorsky, and Sovetsky; and 180 rural... more